Blurb Released for N.K. Jemisin’s The Fifth Season

Image via Houari B./Flickr

Let’s start with the good news. Today on her website, speculative fiction author N.K. Jemisin released the marketing blurb for her next book, The Fifth Season:

The Fifth Season Cover
Image via

Three terrible things happen in a single day.

Essun, masquerading as an ordinary schoolteacher in a quiet small town, comes home to find that her husband has brutally murdered their son and kidnapped their daughter. Mighty Sanze, the empire whose innovations have been civilization’s bedrock for a thousand years, collapses as its greatest city is destroyed by a madman’s vengeance. And worst of all, across the heartland of the world’s sole continent, a great red rift has been been torn which spews ash enough to darken the sky for years. Or centuries.

But this is the Stillness, a land long familiar with struggle, and where orogenes — those who wield the power of the earth as a weapon — are feared far more than the long cold night. Essun has remembered herself, and she will have her daughter back.

She does not care if the world falls apart around her. Essun will break it herself, if she must, to save her daughter.”

The Fifth Season is the first book in the Broken Earth trilogy.

Now the not so good news: the book’s release date has been pushed back to 2015. This gives Jemisin more time to finish the second book in the series. In the same post that revealed the blurb, Jemisin wrote, “TFS is the first of a big, complicated trilogy, requiring a ton of research and in many ways taxing my creative abilities to their fullest — it’s the most challenging novel I’ve ever written, craftwise — and these aren’t exactly the kinds of books I can crank out like popcorn. So even though the first book is finished, I don’t think I can spit out the second one in, like, three months, which is what I’d have to do if the second book was to come out a year later!”

There are upsides to this push back. Jemisin gets more time to do her best work and her readers won’t have to wait years after The Fifth Season is released for the second book to come out. Fans of her previous works, the Inheritance trilogy and the Dreamblood duology, can attest that Jemisin creates vividly realized worlds populated with memorable characters. The Fifth Season will surely be worth the wait.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here